Kid-Friendly Businesses?!

Today’s businesses are often trying to be kid friendly so that they won’t lose a large part of a possible huge customer base. However, kid friendly is way different than breast feeding mom friendly. The kid friendly places are often for kids who aren’t breastfeeding anymore and can eat “adult” food. I realized this the other day when I took my nearly three month old baby boy with me on a one hour plus drive to the “big city”.

Once we got to an area where there were a bunch of stores and restaurants, we decided to stop and eat and feed the baby. My sister thought Dairy Queen might be a fast but okay place to stop. However, we were wrong. It was a very tiny place, it had loud music playing, and it did not have a bathroom. What kind of eating establishment does not have a bathroom?! So, I told them such and we walked out.

Next, I saw a McDonald’s and I thought that for sure they would have a bathroom, it would not be playing loud music, it would be air-conditioned and that it would have a booth where I could sit and feed baby with my nursing cover over him. It turned out to be air-conditioned, but it was still hot in there so baby was too hot to want to eat. There was also no booths….they only had chairs. At least there was no loud music playing. However, baby was crying and hot and didn’t want to eat in such a condition. If I kept the nursing cover over him he would be burning up.

Finally, at my limit, I got up from the table in the restaurant cussing that it was way too hot. My sister suggested trying the bathroom so that’s what we did. It was only 5 or so degrees cooler but at least I didn’t have to use my nursing cover in there.Thank goodness for a women only bathroom! But then someone went to dry their hands and there was only a blower in there and no paper towels. So, it was louder than a vacuum and baby started crying again. However, he got a little used to it after that and kept on nursing.

I was so mad at the conditions I had to deal with just to be able to sit down and feed my baby. A too hot place, no booth for ease, and a loud environment. I didn’t have a place to sit in the bathroom either so I was sitting on the icky floor. They didn’t even have a diaper changing station in there. In a McDonald’s…..it’s supposed to be kid friendly I thought. Well, evidently this one was not.

Seriously, more things ought to be done to accommodate us nursing moms who would like to take our kids out and not stay in the house and be cooped up for 4-6 months. That’s my opinion anyways.

Leave a Reply

