Bad Example Books

It always gets me annoyed when I read in children’s books how kids/teens are disrespectful towards their parents or other authority figures. You see this everywhere actually. That includes the television. But I’m concentrating on the books because adults are creating these books for their young audiences. It’s rather criminal…especially if the author is a parent themselves.

Whenever I have read a book, it was for fun. I always liked reading mystery and adventure books when I was younger. I never liked books that had bad behavior in them because it ruined the book for me. When I was school aged, these types of books that had misbehaved children/teens actually bored me. Now that I’m an adult, these types of books get me annoyed when I read them to do a review. A book should be fun, not include examples of bad behavior for the child to learn.

Now, I like reading factual books that help me to learn something. I’ve read books on understanding childhood behavior, books on understanding adult behaviors and habits, books on religious matters, and books that show me how to do things (like Photoshop). I still like reading mystery/adventure stories but there aren’t many good ones out there anymore. The majority of them include bad adult behavior like murders, infidelity, etc. So, I’ve given up on reading mystery/adventure books for adults. They just don’t cut it with me with the bad behaviors they promulgate in the books. Anybody got any references for adult mystery/adventure stories that don’t include such bad behavior in them?

Yep, books have come a long way. It’s too bad the path that they are taking is one going downhill. My intention in being a children’s author is to create books that don’t have bad behavior in them. My first book was a mystery/adventure. My second one that I am putting together is somewhat of a mystery book, but you don’t realize it until the end of the book. If you are a critical reader, u will see the clues as the story progresses. However, many children today (sadly) aren’t critical readers.

I am going to end on that note.

Later,

Kathleen Ivan

www.kathleenivanchildrensauthor.com

Leave a Reply

