Goat Cheese Breakfast

Have you ever tried goat cheese? I was surprised when I first tasted it because it’s similar in taste and texture to cream cheese. The taste is of course slightly different, but depending on your palette you may or may not notice. It also has less calories per serving. When I compared it to Philadelphia cream cheese, the goat cheese was 30 calories less per serving.

How did I choose to add it to a meal? I added it to my breakfast. I made an over-hard egg and placed it between two pieces of rye bread. Then I slathered some goat cheese on one of those pieces of rye. I let the warmth of the egg melt it a little before digging in. It tasted delicious. I also had a side of blueberries with the sandwich as well as a glass of green tea.

Goat Cheese Breakfast

1 serving Goat cheese                                                                                                                    70 calories

2 pieces rye bread                                                                                                                           180 calories

1 cooked egg

(your choice of over-easy, over-medium, or over-hard, sunny-side up)                                          60-70 calories

2 oz blueberries                                                                                                                               30 calories

16 oz Green Tea  (Honest brand name)                                                                                          70 calories

Total Calories                                                        410-420 

If you include the butter used to cook the egg, then you get about 500 calories, but it’s still a good idea for a low calorie and nutritious breakfast.

So, are you going to try goat cheese?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. canaf
    Mar 20, 2015 @ 01:17:30

    I may try it one of these days.

    Reply

    • 2kathleenivan
      Mar 20, 2015 @ 03:50:35

      I used to put off trying it just because the word “goat”. For some reason, it was associated with a negative connotation in my mind. But I tried it and was pleasantly surprised. Plus, you can always spit it out if you taste it and u don’t like it. Then, use it to make cheesecake or something else. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

