Art Class & The Importance of Book Usage

I decided to take an art class to brush up on my painting “skills”. This is my second class so far. I originally thought that this was going to be an all book or mostly all book class. However, it’s not. So, I was rather annoyed when the teacher said that we didn’t “need” the book. What is up with teachers not using books? Books are so valuable.

Also, I want to learn something: the methods and processes involved in painting. I just can’t do something without learning how to do it first. I already tried that in my other class. 😦 So, I was rather annoyed after my first two days of class ended and I felt like I didn’t learn anything. So, I decided that it was up to me to “figure out” the concepts that go with the assignments the teacher was giving us.

So, I picked up the book that was suggested for the class but not “required”. I compared it to the syllabus and ended up figuring out that the syllabus actually goes with the material in the book. So, I started reading the book and things started fitting together. The book was explaining concepts in much better detail than the instructor did in her 30 minute lecture.

Books are so important. Don’t neglect using them. Especially you teachers. Students are students for a reason. Students want to learn. They don’t have the knowledge. They take classes to learn stuff they don’t already know.

My point: I love books….I wish everyone did. Question 300 dpi

Leave a Reply

