How Many Books Do You Need?

“How many books do you need?!” That was the question my husband directed towards me the other day. I had ordered four books about weaning. Each book is about a different point of weaning so of course I ordered more than one book.

Weaning Book IMG_0488.jpg

 

I already finished reading the book in the image above this paragraph. It was about how to decide when is the proper time to actually wean the child. Another book I am reading is about how to do Baby Led Weaning. That book is actually about when and how to introduce solid foods to your baby without the use of purees. The book is below this paragraph. I haven’t finished reading it yet.

weaning-book-img_0491

The other two books I have I have not finished reading yet. One is a recipe book so it really isn’t a book to actually read….just look through. I only read two books at a time. Since I have finished reading one of the four books, I have started reading another. So, I am now also reading Weaning Made Easy. It is in the photo below. Can weaning really be made easy is my question. I’ll see about that soon enough, but I think my child won’t be weaned easily. He doesn’t like chewing food as much as he likes chewing non-food items like cardboard and any other thing lying around….including your hand. He also loves breastmilk from the source and he has never liked it from the bottle.

weaning-books-img_0489

So, I guess I need four books on Weaning so far, but who knows? Maybe I will get another just so that I can be really informed. Weaning is something that needs to be done right or the baby will not get enough nutrition. Also, he can end up really crabby if taken off the breastmilk too soon. Oh, and don’t forget the breastmilk makers. Those things need tender loving care also and it’s best to not wean too quickly for that reason also. Clogged milk ducts and other problems can occur if baby suddenly stops eating or severely decreases his feedings. I have already had clogged milk ducts a number of times already and they are painful. Sometimes he just doesn’t want to eat regularly.

But, yes, I like to read so that I can be informed on things that are important to me. Weaning correctly is very important to me for the reasons stated above. So, while I found four books that I think have valuable information on weaning, I may end up getting another. No, I think I am set with weaning. My next book I am going to get sort of involves weaning though. It is about putting the baby to bed and getting him to sleep through the night without the baby having to wake up to eat every four hours. It’s a no-cry method which is what I want. My baby wakes every four hours usually, so I want to get a book on this. I have already picked out the title because it was a book suggested in one of the books I just read. I just have to find the book and order it. Books, here I come!

www.kathleenivanchildrensauthor.com

Leave a comment